Muzikale vrijdag: She’s Not There

Nee, niet het gelijknamige nummer van The Zombies, maar Pay No Attention to Alice van countryzanger Tom T. Hall, die zijn song als volgt introduceert:

I went to see an old army buddy of mine to do some drinking And his wife had become an alcoholic and I wrote a song about it

De eerste paar regels:

Pay no attention to Alice, she’s drunk all the time
Booked on that wine, bunches of it and it ruined her mind

[…]

She made that apple pie from a memory
Made them biscuits from a recollection that she had
She cooked that chicken too long but she don’t know that
Oh, what the Hell, it ain’t too bad!

En nu het nummer zelf:

Deed me erg denken aan Schizophrenia van Sonic Youth (afkomstig van het album Sister):

I went away to see an old friend of mine
His sister came over she was out of her mind
She said jesus had a twin who knew nothing about sin
She was laughing like crazy at the trouble I’m in
Her light eyes were dancing she is insane
Her brother says she’s just a bitch with a golden chain
She keeps coming closer saying I can feel it in my bones
Schizophrenia is taking me home

Geef een reactie

